Enter your keyword

History of Castle Melans


Schloss Melans - Privatbesitz seit 1815

Melans was first mentioned in 1312 in the tax register of the Inntal. Archduke Sigmund and Emperor Maximilian were counted among its holders. According to local legend Emperor Maximilian stayed there to go hunting in the surrounding forests and mountains of Gnadenwald and the Halltal.

In 1815 Felix Adam Riccabona von Reichenfels bought the whole property which had become unhabitable due to earthquakes. So he restored it from ground up and constructed the biedermeier-garden that still receives a lot of attention even today. Later, in 1890 a free-standing, neo-gothic chapel and an access balcony were added.

Melans is still inhabited by the Riccabona family and has been restored extensively over the last 20 years. At present it belongs to Baron Christoph Riccabona.

Biedermeier-garden, park and the picturesque buildings of castle Melans on a hill with a wonderful view over the Inntal offer a favoured setting for romantic wedding photos. Further more they are a unique scenery for film shootings. The holy trinity chapel, garden and park may be rented by arrangement also for weddings or other Events.

error: Content is protected !!